Agency & Center Staff

Agency and Staff

Funded by the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Elementary and Secondary Education's Office of Safe and Supportive Schools (OSSS), the National Center on Safe Supportive Learning Environments (NCSSLE) is comprised of experts with direct experience in addressing the challenges of improving school climate and the conditions for learning at the school, district, State, and federal levels.

The Center is operated by the American Institutes for Research (AIR) in collaboration with the Collaborative for Academic, Social, and Emotional Learning (CASEL); Lux Consulting GroupNational Center for School Mental HealthSanametrix; Silver Gate Group, Youth Catalytics, Dr. Abraham Wandersman, and Dr. Catherine Bradshaw.

The Center works with a research to practice advisory group to address high priority issues. 

U.S. Department of Education, Office of Safe and Supportive Schools

  • Bryan Williams, Director, OSSS
  • Carlette KyserPegram, Group Lead, OSSS
  • Nicole White, Content Lead for NCSSLE, Program Officer for the Project Prevent Grant Program  
  • Amy Banks, Program Officer for the School Based Mental Health Services Program
  • Deirdra Hilliard, Grant Manager for the Trauma Recovery Demonstration Grant Program
  • Tawanda Avery, Program Officer for the Mental Health Service Professionals Grant Program

Center Leadership

Research to Practice Advisory Group

  • Catherine Bradshaw, School of Education and Human Development, University of Virginia (Lead)
  • Ron Avi Astor, Luskin School of Public Affairs, University of California Los Angeles (UCLA)
  • Clayton Cook, Chief Development Officer and Implementation Scientist, Character Strong
  • Mark T. Greenberg, College of Health and Human Development, Penn State University  
  • Anne Gregory, Professor and School Psychology Department Chair, Rutgers University, 
  • Nancy Guerra, School of Social Ecology, University of California Irvine (UCI)
  • Maury Nation, Peabody College of Education and Human Development, Vanderbilt University
  • David Osher, AIR 
  • Karen Pittman, KP Catalyst
  • Mark Weist, Department of Psychology, University of South Carolina 


American Institutes for Research

U.S. Department of Education

The contents of the National Center on Safe Supportive Learning Environments Web site were assembled under contracts from the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Safe and Supportive Schools to the American Institutes for Research (AIR), Contract Number  91990021A0020.

This Web site is operated and maintained by AIR. The contents of this Web site do not necessarily represent the policy or views of the U.S. Department of Education nor do they imply endorsement by the U.S. Department of Education.

©2024 American Institutes for Research — Disclaimer   |   Privacy Policy   |   Accessibility Statement