Kansas School Discipline Laws & Regulations: Substance Use

Discipline Compendium

Kansas School Discipline Laws & Regulations: Substance Use

Category: Discipline Addressing Specific Code of Conduct Violations
Subcategory: Substance Use
State: Kansas

The state or jurisdiction(s) you selected for this subcategory are shown below, followed by the laws and regulations. To add or change states, use the Back button and resubmit your search request.

To view a state profile showing school discipline laws and regulations in all subcategories for a given state, click on the state name.

LAWS

72-6135. Definitions.

As used in K.S.A. 72-89c01 and 72-89c02, and amendments thereto:

(g) "Controlled substance" has the meaning ascribed thereto in K.S.A. 2013 Supp. 21-5701, and amendments thereto.

(h) "Illegal drug" means a controlled substance but does not include a controlled substance that is legally possessed, used under the supervision of a licensed health-care professional or used under authority of any federal or state law.

(i) "Possession of a weapon or illegal drug" means knowingly having direct physical control over a weapon or illegal drug or knowingly having the power and the intention at a given time to exercise dominion or control over a weapon or illegal drug.

72-6136. Suspension or revocation of driver's license or privilege upon certain school safety violations; procedure.

(a) Whenever a pupil who has attained the age of 13 years has been found in possession of a weapon or illegal drug at school, upon school property or at a school supervised activity or has engaged in an act or behavior, committed at school, upon school property, or at a school-supervised activity which resulted in, or was substantially likely to have resulted in, serious bodily injury to others, the chief administrative officer of the school shall make a report of the pupil's act to the appropriate law enforcement agency, provided that the report would not violate the terms of the memorandum of understanding approved by the superintendent of the school district pursuant to K.S.A. 72-89b03(i), and amendments thereto. The report shall be given as soon as practicable, but not to exceed 10 days from the date of the pupil's act, excluding holidays and weekends, to the appropriate law enforcement agency. Upon receipt of the report, the law enforcement agency shall investigate the matter and give written notice to the division of the act committed by the pupil. The notice shall be given to the division of vehicles by the law enforcement agency as soon as practicable but not to exceed 10 days, excluding holidays and weekends, after receipt of the report and shall include the pupil's name, address, date of birth, driver's license number, if available, and a description of the act committed by the pupil. A copy of the notice also shall be given to the pupil and to the parent or guardian of the pupil.

72-6271. Drug abuse, referral of pupils for assistance; immunity from civil liability.

No school district, educational cooperative, interlocal educational agency or state accredited nonpublic school, no governing authority thereof, no member of any such governing authority, and no officer or employee of any school district, educational cooperative, interlocal educational agency or accredited nonpublic school shall be subject to any civil liability for any statement, report or action taken in assisting, or referring for assistance to any medical, treatment or social service agency or facility, any pupil reasonably believed to be abusing or incapacitated by the use of alcohol or other drugs unless such assistance or referral was made in bad faith or with malicious purpose.

The same immunity from liability shall attach with respect to participation in any administrative or judicial proceeding resulting from any such assistance or referral.

72-6272. Alcohol and drug abuse programs; provision authorized.

The board of education of every school district may provide for programs which are designed to assist pupils at all grade levels in the identification, examination, prevention and resolution of alcohol and drug abuse problems which may affect the ability of such pupils to satisfactorily benefit from attendance at school.

Any board of education may enter into contracts for the provision of such programs for its pupils and may pay the fees therefor from the general fund of the school district.

72-6285. Tobacco products, use in school buildings prohibited; school building defined.

(a) The use of tobacco products in any school building is hereby prohibited. No board of education of any school district shall allow any person to use tobacco products in any school building.

(b) As used in this section, the term "school building" means any enclosed building used for pupil attendance purposes by the board of education of a unified school district. The term school building does not include a building, or part thereof, used for residential purposes or leased from the school district for nonschool sponsored activities.

REGULATIONS

No relevant regulations found.

American Institutes for Research

U.S. Department of Education

The contents of the National Center on Safe Supportive Learning Environments Web site were assembled under contracts from the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Safe and Supportive Schools to the American Institutes for Research (AIR), Contract Number  91990021A0020.

This Web site is operated and maintained by AIR. The contents of this Web site do not necessarily represent the policy or views of the U.S. Department of Education nor do they imply endorsement by the U.S. Department of Education.

©2024 American Institutes for Research — Disclaimer   |   Privacy Policy   |   Accessibility Statement