Nevada School Discipline Laws & Regulations: Chronic Absenteeism and Truancy

Discipline Compendium

Nevada School Discipline Laws & Regulations: Chronic Absenteeism and Truancy

Category: Discipline Addressing Specific Code of Conduct Violations
Subcategory: Chronic Absenteeism and Truancy
State: Nevada

The state or jurisdiction(s) you selected for this subcategory are shown below, followed by the laws and regulations. To add or change states, use the Back button and resubmit your search request.

To view a state profile showing school discipline laws and regulations in all subcategories for a given state, click on the state name.

LAWS

NRS 392.040. Attendance required for child between 7 and 18 years of age; minimum age required for kindergarten and first grade; waiver from attendance available for child 6 years of age; developmental screening test required to determine placement; effect of military transfer of parent of child.

1. Except as otherwise provided by law, each parent, custodial parent, guardian or other person in the State of Nevada having control or charge of any child between the ages of 7 and 18 years shall send the child to a public school during all the time the public school is in session in the school district in which the child resides unless the child has graduated from high school.

2. A child who is 5 years of age on or before September 30 of a school year may be admitted to kindergarten at the beginning of that school year, and the child's enrollment must be counted for purposes of apportionment. If a child is not 5 years of age on or before September 30 of a school year, the child must not be admitted to kindergarten.

3. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 4, a child who is 6 years of age on or before September 30 of a school year must:

(a) If the child has not completed kindergarten, be admitted to kindergarten at the beginning of that school year; or

(b) If the child has completed kindergarten, be admitted to the first grade at the beginning of that school year, and the child's enrollment must be counted for purposes of apportionment. If a child is not 6 years of age on or before September 30 of a school year, the child must not be admitted to the first grade until the beginning of the school year following the child's sixth birthday.

4. The parents, custodial parent, guardian or other person within the State of Nevada having control or charge of a child who is 6 years of age on or before September 30 of a school year may elect for the child not to attend kindergarten or the first grade during that year. The parents, custodial parent, guardian or other person who makes such an election shall file with the board of trustees of the appropriate school district a waiver in a form prescribed by the board.

5. Whenever a child who is 6 years of age is enrolled in a public school, each parent, custodial parent, guardian or other person in the State of Nevada having control or charge of the child shall send the child to the public school during all the time the school is in session. If the board of trustees of a school district has adopted a policy prescribing a minimum number of days of attendance for pupils enrolled in kindergarten or first grade pursuant to NRS 392.122, the school district shall provide to each parent and legal guardian of a pupil who elects to enroll his or her child in kindergarten or first grade a written document containing a copy of that policy and a copy of the policy of the school district concerning the withdrawal of pupils from kindergarten or first grade. Before the child's first day of attendance at a school, the parent or legal guardian shall sign a statement on a form provided by the school district acknowledging that he or she has read and understands the policy concerning attendance and the policy concerning withdrawal of pupils from kindergarten or first grade. The parent or legal guardian shall comply with the applicable requirements for attendance. This requirement for attendance does not apply to any child under the age of 7 years who has not yet been enrolled or has been formally withdrawn from enrollment in public school.

6. A child who is 7 years of age on or before September 30 of a school year must:

(a) If the child has completed kindergarten and the first grade, be admitted to the second grade.

(b) If the child has completed kindergarten, be admitted to the first grade.

(c) If the parents, custodial parent, guardian or other person in the State of Nevada having control or charge of the child waived the child's attendance from kindergarten pursuant to subsection 4, undergo an assessment by the district pursuant to subsection 7 to determine whether the child is prepared developmentally to be admitted to the first grade. If the district determines that the child is prepared developmentally, the child must be admitted to the first grade. If the district determines that the child is not so prepared, he or she must be admitted to kindergarten.

The enrollment of any child pursuant to this subsection must be counted for apportionment purposes.

7. Each school district shall prepare and administer before the beginning of each school year a developmental screening test to a child:

(a) Who is 7 years of age on or before September 30 of the next school year; and

(b) Whose parents waived the child's attendance from kindergarten pursuant to subsection 4, to determine whether the child is prepared developmentally to be admitted to the first grade. The results of the test must be made available to the parents, custodial parent, guardian or other person within the State of Nevada having control or charge of the child.

8. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 9, a child who becomes a resident of this State after completing kindergarten or beginning first grade in another state in accordance with the laws of that state may be admitted to the grade the child was attending or would be attending had he or she remained a resident of the other state regardless of his or her age, unless the board of trustees of the school district determines that the requirements of this section are being deliberately circumvented.

9. Pursuant to the provisions of NRS 388F.010, a child who transfers to a school in this State from a school outside this State because of the military transfer of the parent or legal guardian of the child must be admitted to:

(a) The grade, other than kindergarten, the child was attending or would be attending had he or she remained a resident of the other state, regardless of the child's age.

(b) Kindergarten, if the child was enrolled in kindergarten in another state in accordance with the laws of that state, regardless of the child's age.

10. As used in this section, "kindergarten" includes:

(a) A kindergarten established by the board of trustees of a school district pursuant to NRS 388.060;

(b) A kindergarten established by the governing body of a charter school; and

(c) An authorized program of instruction for kindergarten offered in a child's home pursuant to NRS 388.060.

NRS 392.128. Duties of advisory boards; division into subcommittees; provision of assistance in conjunction with community service providers; use and accounting of available money by advisory board.

1. Each advisory board to review school attendance created pursuant to NRS 392.126 shall:

(a) Review the records of the attendance and truancy of pupils submitted to the advisory board to review school attendance by the board of trustees of the school district or the State Public Charter School Authority or a college or university within the Nevada System of Higher Education that sponsors a charter school pursuant to subsection 3 of NRS 385A.240;

(b) Identify factors that contribute to the truancy of pupils in the school district;

(c) Establish programs to reduce the truancy of pupils in the school district, including, without limitation, the coordination of services available in the community to assist with the intervention, diversion and discipline of pupils who are truant;

(d) At least annually, evaluate the effectiveness of those programs;

(e) Establish a procedure for schools and school districts for the reporting of the status of pupils as habitual truants; and

(f) Inform the parents and legal guardians of the pupils who are enrolled in the schools within the district of the policies and procedures adopted pursuant to the provisions of this section.

2. The chair of an advisory board may divide the advisory board into subcommittees. The advisory board may delegate one or more of the duties of the advisory board to a subcommittee of the advisory board, including, without limitation, holding hearings pursuant to NRS 392.147. If the chair of an advisory board divides the advisory board into subcommittees, the chair shall notify the board of trustees of the school district of this action. Upon receipt of such a notice, the board of trustees shall establish rules and procedures for each such subcommittee. A subcommittee shall abide by the applicable rules and procedures when it takes action or makes decisions.

3. An advisory board to review school attendance may work with a family resource center or other provider of community services to provide assistance to pupils who are truant. The advisory board shall identify areas within the school district in which community services are not available to assist pupils who are truant. As used in this subsection, "family resource center" has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 430A.040.

4. An advisory board to review school attendance created in a county pursuant to NRS 392.126 may use money appropriated by the Legislature and any other money made available to the advisory board for the use of programs to reduce the truancy of pupils in the school district. The advisory board to review school attendance shall, on a quarterly basis, provide to the board of trustees of the school district an accounting of the money used by the advisory board to review school attendance to reduce the truancy of pupils in the school district.

NRS 392.130. Conditions under which pupil deemed truant; approval required for absence; notice of unapproved absence to parent; applicability.

1. Within the meaning of this chapter, a pupil shall be deemed a truant who is absent from school without the written approval of the pupil's teacher or the principal of the school, unless the pupil is physically or mentally unable to attend school. The teacher or principal shall give his or her written approval for a pupil to be absent if an emergency exists or upon the request of a parent or legal guardian of the pupil. Before a pupil may attend or otherwise participate in school activities outside the classroom during regular classroom hours, the pupil must receive the approval of the teacher or principal.

2. An unapproved absence for at least one period, or the equivalent of one period for the school, of a school day may be deemed a truancy for the purposes of this section.

3. If a pupil is physically or mentally unable to attend school, the parent or legal guardian or other person having control or charge of the pupil shall notify the teacher or principal of the school orally or in writing, in accordance with the policy established by the board of trustees of the school district, within 3 days after the pupil returns to school.

4. An absence which has not been approved pursuant to subsection 1 or 3 shall be deemed an unapproved absence. In the event of an unapproved absence, the teacher, attendance officer or other school official shall deliver or cause to be delivered a written notice of truancy to the parent, legal guardian or other person having control or charge of the child. The written notice must be delivered to the parent, legal guardian or other person who has control of the child. The written notice must inform the parents or legal guardian of such absences in a form specified by the Department.

5. The provisions of this section apply to all pupils who are required to attend school pursuant to NRS 392.040.

6. As used in this section, "physically or mentally unable to attend" does not include a physical or mental condition for which a pupil is excused pursuant to NRS 392.050.

NRS 392.140. Conditions under which pupil declared habitual truant; applicability.

1. Any child who has been declared a truant three or more times within one school year must be declared a habitual truant.

2. Any child who has once been declared a habitual truant and who in an immediately succeeding year is absent from school without the written:

(a) Approval of the child's teacher or the principal of the school pursuant to subsection 1 of NRS 392.130; or

(b) Notice of his or her parent or legal guardian or other person who has control or charge over the pupil pursuant to subsection 3 of NRS 392.130, may again be declared a habitual truant.

3. The provisions of this section apply to all pupils who are required to attend school pursuant to NRS 392.040.

NRS 392.144. Duties of school if pupil is truant; habitual truant must be reported to attendance officer or law enforcement, referred to advisory board or referred for imposition of administrative sanctions.

1. If a pupil has one or more unapproved absences from school, the school in which the pupil is enrolled shall take reasonable actions designed, as applicable, to encourage, enable or convince the pupil to attend school.

2. If a pupil is a habitual truant pursuant to NRS 392.140, or if a pupil who is a habitual truant pursuant to NRS 392.140 is again declared truant pursuant to NRS 392.130 in the same school year after being declared a habitual truant, the principal of the school shall:

(a) Report the pupil to an attendance officer, a school police officer or the local law enforcement agency for investigation and issuance of a citation, if warranted, in accordance with NRS 392.149;

(b) If the parent or legal guardian of a pupil has signed a written consent pursuant to subsection 4, submit a written referral of the pupil to the advisory board to review school attendance in the county in accordance with NRS 392.146; or

(c) Refer the pupil for the imposition of administrative sanctions in accordance with NRS 392.148.

3. The board of trustees of each school district shall adopt criteria to determine whether the principal of a school shall:

(a) Report a pupil to an attendance officer, a school police officer or the law enforcement agency pursuant to paragraph (a) of subsection 2;

(b) Refer a pupil to an advisory board to review school attendance pursuant to paragraph (b) of subsection 2; or

(c) Refer a pupil for the imposition of administrative sanctions pursuant to paragraph (c) of subsection 2.

4. If the principal of a school makes an initial determination to submit a written referral of a pupil to the advisory board to review school attendance, the principal shall notify the parent or legal guardian of the pupil and request the parent or legal guardian to sign a written consent that authorizes the school and, if applicable, the school district to release the records of the pupil to the advisory board to the extent that such release is necessary for the advisory board to carry out its duties pursuant to NRS 392.146 and 392.147. The written consent must comply with the applicable requirements of 20 U.S.C. § 1232g(b) and 34 C.F.R. Part 99. If the parent or legal guardian refuses to sign the consent, the principal shall:

(a) Report the pupil to an attendance officer, a school police officer or the local law enforcement agency pursuant to paragraph (a) of subsection 2; or

(b) Refer the pupil for the imposition of administrative sanctions pursuant to paragraph (c) of subsection 2.

NRS 392.146. Contents of written referral to advisory board; notice to parents or guardian.

A written referral of a pupil to an advisory board to review school attendance must include the dates on which the pupil was truant from school and all action taken by the school to assist the pupil to attend school. The advisory board may request clarification of any information contained in the written referral or any additional information that the advisory board considers necessary. The school shall provide written notice of the referral to the parents or legal guardian of the pupil. The written notice must include, without limitation:

1. The name and address of the pupil referred;

2. A written explanation of the reason for the referral;

3. A summary of the provisions of NRS 392.147; and

4. The address and telephone number of the advisory board to review school attendance.

NRS 392.147. Hearing by advisory board; written agreement for participation of pupil in certain programs; reporting of pupil to attendance officer or law enforcement agency or referral for administrative sanctions under certain circumstances; appeal by parent; confidentiality of information.

1. If an advisory board to review school attendance receives a written referral of a pupil pursuant to NRS 392.146, the advisory board shall set a date, time and place for a hearing. The pupil and the pupil's parents or legal guardian shall attend the hearing held by the advisory board. The hearing must be closed to the public. The chair of an advisory board to review school attendance may request that subpoenas for a hearing conducted pursuant to this section be issued to:

(a) The parent or legal guardian of a pupil who has been referred to the advisory board or any other person that the advisory board considers necessary to the hearing.

(b) A pupil who has been referred to the advisory board.

2. If a pupil and the pupil's parents or legal guardian do not attend the hearing, the chair of the advisory board shall:

(a) Report the pupil to an attendance officer, a school police officer or the appropriate local law enforcement agency for investigation and issuance of a citation, if warranted in accordance with NRS 392.149; or

(b) Refer the pupil for the imposition of administrative sanctions in accordance with NRS 392.148.

3. If an advisory board to review school attendance determines that the status of a pupil as a habitual truant can be adequately addressed through participation by the pupil in programs and services available in the community, the advisory board shall order the pupil to participate in such programs and services. If the pupil does not agree to participate in such programs and services, the chair of the advisory board shall report the pupil to an attendance officer, a school police officer or the appropriate local law enforcement agency for investigation and issuance of a citation, if warranted in accordance with NRS 392.149, or refer the pupil for the imposition of administrative sanctions in accordance with NRS 392.148. If the pupil agrees to participate in such programs and services, the advisory board, the pupil and the parents or legal guardian of the pupil shall enter into a written agreement that:

(a) Sets forth the findings of the advisory board;

(b) Sets forth the terms and conditions of the pupil's participation in the programs and services designated by the advisory board; and

(c) Adequately informs the pupil and the pupil's parents or legal guardian that if the pupil or his or her parents or legal guardian do not comply with the terms of the written agreement, the chair of the advisory board is legally obligated to report the pupil to an attendance officer, a school police officer or the appropriate local law enforcement agency for investigation and issuance of a citation, if warranted in accordance with NRS 392.149, or refer the pupil for the imposition of administrative sanctions in accordance with NRS 392.148.

The parents or legal guardian of the pupil shall, upon the request of the advisory board, provide proof satisfactory to the advisory board that the pupil is participating in the programs and services set forth in the written agreement.

4. The chair of an advisory board to review school attendance shall report a pupil to an attendance officer, a school police officer or the appropriate local law enforcement agency or refer the pupil for the imposition of administrative sanctions in accordance with NRS 392.148 if:

(a) The pupil and the pupil's parents or legal guardian fail to attend a hearing set by the advisory board pursuant to subsection 1;

(b) The advisory board determines that the status of a pupil as a habitual truant cannot be adequately addressed by requiring the pupil to participate in programs and services available in the community;

(c) The pupil does not consent to participation in programs and services pursuant to subsection 3; or

(d) The pupil or the pupil's parents or legal guardian violates the terms of the written agreement entered into pursuant to subsection 3.

5. If the chair of an advisory board makes a report to an attendance officer, a school police officer or the local law enforcement agency pursuant to subsection 4, the chair shall:

(a) Submit to the attendance officer, school police officer or law enforcement agency, as applicable, written documentation of all efforts made by the advisory board to address the status of the pupil as a habitual truant; and

(b) Make recommendations to the attendance officer, school police officer or law enforcement agency, as applicable, regarding the appropriate disposition of the case.

6. If the chair of an advisory board refers a pupil for the imposition of administrative sanctions pursuant to subsection 4, the chair shall:

(a) Provide written documentation of all efforts made by the advisory board to address the status of the pupil as a habitual truant; and

(b) Make recommendations regarding the appropriate disposition of the case.

7. If the parents or legal guardian of a pupil enter into a written agreement pursuant to this section, the parents or legal guardian may appeal to the board of trustees of the school district a determination made by the advisory board concerning the contents of the written agreement. Upon receipt of such a request, the board of trustees of the school district shall review the determination in accordance with the procedure established by the board of trustees for such matters.

8. The board of trustees of each school district shall adopt policies and rules to protect the confidentiality of the deliberations, findings and determinations made by an advisory board and information concerning a pupil and the family of a pupil. An advisory board shall not disclose information concerning the records of a pupil or services provided to a pupil or the pupil's family unless the disclosure is specifically authorized by statute or by the policies and rules of the board of trustees and is necessary for the advisory board to carry out its duties.

NRS 392.148. Administrative sanctions against habitual truant after investigation and hearing; suspension or delay in issuance of driver’s license; appeal by parent or guardian.

1. Upon receipt of a report pursuant to NRS 392.144 or 392.147, a school police officer or a person designated pursuant to subsection 6 shall conduct an investigation, set a date for a hearing and provide a written notice of the hearing to the parent or legal guardian of the pupil. If it appears after investigation and a hearing that a pupil is a habitual truant, a school police officer or a person designated pursuant to subsection 6 may issue an order imposing the following administrative sanctions against a pupil:

(a) If it is the first time that administrative sanctions have been issued pursuant to this section because the pupil is a habitual truant, and the pupil is 14 years of age or older, order the suspension of the driver's license of the pupil for at least 30 days but not more than 6 months. If the pupil does not possess a driver's license, the order must provide that the pupil is prohibited from applying for a driver's license for 30 days:

(1) Immediately following the date of the order if the pupil is eligible to apply for a driver's license; or

(2) After the date the pupil becomes eligible to apply for a driver's license if the pupil is not eligible to apply for a driver's license.

(b) If it is the second time or any subsequent time that administrative sanctions have been issued pursuant to this section because the pupil is a habitual truant, and the pupil is 14 years of age or older, order the suspension of the driver's license of the pupil for at least 60 days but not more than 1 year. If the pupil does not possess a driver's license, the order must provide that the pupil is prohibited from applying for a driver's license for 60 days immediately following:

(1) The date of the order if the pupil is eligible to apply for a driver's license; or

(2) The date the pupil becomes eligible to apply for a driver's license if the pupil is not eligible to apply for a driver's license.

2. If a pupil applies for a driver's license, the Department of Motor Vehicles shall:

(a) Notify the pupil of the provisions of this section that authorize the suspension of the driver's license of the pupil; and

(b) Require the pupil to sign an affidavit acknowledging that the pupil is aware that his or her driver's license may be suspended pursuant to this section.

3. If an order is issued pursuant to this section delaying the ability of the pupil to receive a driver's license, a copy of the order must be forwarded to the Department of Motor Vehicles not later than 5 days after the order is issued.

4. If an order is issued pursuant to this section suspending the driver's license of a pupil:

(a) The pupil shall surrender his or her driver's license to the school police officer or the person designated pursuant to subsection 6.

(b) Not later than 5 days after issuing the order, the school police officer or the designated person shall forward to the Department of Motor Vehicles a copy of the order and the driver's license of the pupil.

(c) The Department of Motor Vehicles:

(1) Shall report the suspension of the driver's license of the pupil to an insurance company or its agent inquiring about the pupil's driving record, but such a suspension must not be considered for the purpose of rating or underwriting.

(2) Shall not treat the suspension in the manner statutorily required for moving traffic violations.

(3) Shall not require the pupil to submit to the tests and other requirements which are adopted by regulation pursuant to subsection 1 of NRS 483.495 as a condition of reinstatement or reissuance after the suspension of a driver's license.

5. The parent or legal guardian of a pupil may request a hearing before a person designated by the board of trustees of the school district in which the pupil is enrolled to appeal the imposition of any administrative sanctions pursuant to this section. The person designated by the board of trustees shall, not later than 30 days after receipt of the request, hold a hearing to review the reason for the imposition of any administrative sanctions. Not later than 30 days after the hearing, the person designated by the board of trustees shall issue a written decision affirming, denying or modifying the decision to impose administrative sanctions and mail a copy of the decision to the parent or legal guardian of the pupil.

6. If a public school does not have a school police officer assigned to it, the principal of the school may designate a qualified person to carry out the requirements of this section.

NRS 392.149. Issuance of citation to habitual truant; applicability.

1. Upon receipt of a report pursuant to NRS 392.144 or 392.147, if it appears after investigation that a pupil is a habitual truant, the attendance officer, school police officer or law enforcement agency to whom the report is made shall prepare manually or electronically a citation directing the pupil to appear in the proper juvenile court.

2.    A copy of the citation must be delivered to the pupil and to the parent, guardian or any other person who has control or charge of the pupil by:

(a)    The local law enforcement agency;

(b)    A school police officer employed by the board of trustees of the school district; or

(c)    An attendance officer appointed by the board of trustees of the school district.

3.    The citation must be in the form prescribed for misdemeanor citations in NRS 171.1773.

4.    The provisions of this section apply to all pupils who are required to attend school pursuant to NRS 392.040.

NRS 392.150. Appointment of attendance officer authorized; procedures to monitor attendance and truancy; consideration of employment of attendance clerk.

1.    The board of trustees of a school district may appoint an attendance officer for the school district, who need not be a licensed employee of the school district, except that in any school district where a system of classified employment is in effect, attendance officers must be classified employees of the school district. If the board of trustees appoints an attendance officer for the school district, the board of trustees may:

(a)    Fix the compensation of the attendance officer;
(b)    Prescribe the duties of the attendance officer; and
(c)    Adopt regulations not inconsistent with law for the performance of the duties of the attendance officer.

2.    The board of trustees of each school district shall:

(a)    Establish procedures to monitor the attendance and truancy of pupils, including, without limitation, a standard method for reporting the truancy of pupils and a standard method for reporting excessive absences of pupils throughout the school district;
(b)    Coordinate efforts to refer pupils who are truant to appropriate providers of community services; and
(c)    Determine, based on the attendance and truancy of pupils at each school within the school district, whether to employ an attendance clerk for a particular school or group of schools whose primary responsibility is to monitor the attendance and truancy of pupils.

NRS 392.160. Taking into custody child reported absent from school; persons or counseling agency to whom child may be delivered.

1.    Any peace officer, the attendance officer or any other school officer shall, during school hours, take into custody without warrant:

(a)    Any child between the ages of 7 and 18 years; and
 
(b)    Any child who has arrived at the age of 6 years but not at the age of 7 years and is enrolled in a public school, who has been reported to the officer by the teacher, superintendent of schools or other school officer as an absentee from instruction upon which the child is lawfully required to attend.

2.    Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3:

(a)    During school hours, the officer having custody shall forthwith deliver the child to the superintendent of schools, principal or other school officer at the child’s school of attendance.
(b)    After school hours, the officer having custody shall deliver the child to the parent, guardian or other person having control or charge of the child.

3.    The board of trustees of a school district or the governing body of a charter school may enter into an agreement with a counseling agency to permit delivery of the child to the agency. For the purposes of this subsectio“, “counseling age”cy” means an agency designated by the school district in which the child is enrolled to provide counseling for the child and the parent, guardian or other person having control or charge of the child.

NRS 392.467. Suspension or expulsion of pupil: Procedure; limitations.

1.    Except as otherwise provided in subsections 5 and 6 and NRS 392.466, the board of trustees of a school district may authorize the suspension or expulsion of any pupil who is at least 11 years of age from any public school within the school district. Except as otherwise provided in NRS 392.466, a pupil who is not more than 10 years of age must not be permanently expelled from school.

2.    Except as otherwise provided in subsection 6, no pupil may be suspended or expelled until the pupil has been given notice of the charges against him or her, an explanation of the evidence and an opportunity for a hearing, except that a pupil who is found to be in possession of a firearm or a dangerous weapon as provided in NRS 392.466 may be removed from the school immediately upon being given an explanation of the reasons for his or her removal and pending proceedings, to be conducted as soon as practicable after removal, for the pupil’s suspension or expulsion.

3.    The board of trustees of a school district may authorize the expulsion, suspension or removal of a pupil who has been charged with a crime from the school at which the pupil is enrolled regardless of the outcome of any criminal or delinquency proceedings brought against the pupil only if the school:

(a)    Conducts an independent investigation of the conduct of the pupil; and
(b)    Gives notice of the charges brought against the pupil by the school to the pupil.

4.    The provisions of chapter 241 of NRS do not apply to any hearing conducted pursuant to this section. Such hearings must be closed to the public.

5.    The board of trustees of a school district shall not authorize the expulsion, suspension or removal of any pupil from the public school system solely for offenses related to attendance or because the pupil is declared a truant or habitual truant in accordance with NRS 392.130 or 392.140.

6.    A pupil who is participating in a program of special education pursuant to NRS 388.419, other than a pupil who receives early intervening services, may, in accordance with the procedural policy adopted by the board of trustees of the school district for such matters and only after the board of trustees of the school district has reviewed the circumstances and determined that the action is in compliance with the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, 20 U.S.C. §§ 1400 et seq., be:

(a)    Suspended from school pursuant to this section for not more than 5 days for each occurrence.
(b)    Permanently expelled from school pursuant to this section.

7.    A homeless pupil or a pupil in foster care who is at least 11 years of age may be suspended or expelled from school pursuant to this section only if a determination is made that the behavior that led to the consideration for suspension or expulsion was not caused by homelessness or being in foster care. The person responsible for making a determination of whether or not the behavior was caused by homelessness or being in foster care shall presume that the behavior was caused by homelessness or being in foster care unless the person determines that the behavior was not caused by homelessness or being in foster care pursuant to this subsection. A determination that the behavior was not caused by homelessness must be made in consultation with the local educational agency liaison for homeless pupils designated in accordance with the McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act of 1987, 42 U.S.C. §§ 11301 et seq., or a contact person at a school, including, without limitation, a school counselor or school social worker. A determination that the behavior was not caused by being in foster care must be made in consultation with an advocate for pupils in foster care at the school in which the pupil is in enrolled or the school counselor of the pupil.

8.    As used in this section:

(a) “Foster care” has the meaning ascribed to it in 45 C.F.R. § 1355.20.
(b)    (b) “Homeless pupil” has the meaning ascribed to the term “homeless children and youths” in 42 U.S.C. § 11434a(2).

NRS 392.900. Interference with pupil attending school; penalty.

1.    It is unlawful for any person, against the will of a pupil attending any public school, to beat, whip, detain or otherwise interfere with the pupil while the pupil is on his or her way to and from school.
 
2.    Any person who violates any of the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.
 

American Institutes for Research

U.S. Department of Education

The contents of the National Center on Safe Supportive Learning Environments Web site were assembled under contracts from the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Safe and Supportive Schools to the American Institutes for Research (AIR), Contract Number  91990021A0020.

This Web site is operated and maintained by AIR. The contents of this Web site do not necessarily represent the policy or views of the U.S. Department of Education nor do they imply endorsement by the U.S. Department of Education.

©2024 American Institutes for Research — Disclaimer   |   Privacy Policy   |   Accessibility Statement