Mental Health Service Professional Demonstration Grants

In 2019, the U.S. Department of Education awarded $11 million in Mental Health Service Professional Demonstration grants to 27 State education agencies and school districts. This grant program supports innovative partnerships to train and deploy school-based mental health service providers in schools. The purpose is to expand the pipeline of high-quality, trained professionals to address shortages of mental health services in high-need schools and to provide supports that encompass social and emotional learning, mental wellness, resilience, and positive connections between students and adults.

Focus of the Mental Health Service Professional Demonstration Program

Funded local educational agencies offer schools: 

  1. social-emotional and mental wellness learning;
  2. effective resilience efforts in the aftermath of a crisis;
  3. school-based mental health services for high-need public elementary schools and secondary schools with shortages of school-based mental health service providers; and
  4. opportunities to place graduate students of IHEs in school-based mental health fields into schools served by the participating high-need LEAs to complete required field work, credit hours, internships, or related training as applicable for the degree, license, or credential program of each student.

Mental Health Service Professional Demonstration Grantees

Below is a list of the 27 Mental Health Service Professional Demonstration (MHSP) grantees, by State. More information on the MHSP grantees can be found on NCSSLE's State pages. Read more information about the MHSP grants, here, or access a particular State page below to learn more.

  • Peoria Unified School District
  • Green Hills Area Education Agency (GHAEA)
  • Richland-Bean Blossom Community School Corporation
  • Montana Office of Public Instruction
  • Education Service Center Region 15
  • New Vision Middle School
  • Pasadena Unified School District
  • Tulare County Office of Education
  • Eureka City Schools
  • Del Norte County Office of Education
  • Educational Service Unit #2
North Carolina
  • Public Schools of Robeson County
  • Ashe County School District
  • Rockingham County Schools
  • Broward County Public Schools
  • School Board of St. Lucie County, St. Lucie Public Schools
  • Chicago Public Schools (CPS) - Board of Education of the City of Chicago
  • Prince George's County Board of Education
New York
  • John V. Lindsay Wildcat Academy Charter School
  • Sodus Central School District
  • Niagra Falls City School District
  • Virginia Department of Education
  • Louisiana Department of Education
  • Osage County Interlocal Cooperative
  • Corbin Independent Schools
New Jersey
  • Newark Board of Education
  • Pennsauken Public Schools


American Institutes for Research

U.S. Department of Education

The contents of the National Center on Safe Supportive Learning Environments Web site were assembled under contracts from the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Safe and Supportive Schools to the American Institutes for Research (AIR), Contract Number  91990021A0020.

This Web site is operated and maintained by AIR. The contents of this Web site do not necessarily represent the policy or views of the U.S. Department of Education nor do they imply endorsement by the U.S. Department of Education.

©2021 American Institutes for Research — Disclaimer   |   Privacy Policy   |   Accessibility Statement