Project Prevent Grants (Cohort 2)

In 2019, the U.S. Department of Education awarded $11.3 million in Project Prevent grants to 15 local educational agencies (LEAs) to increase their capacity both to identify, assess, and serve students exposed to pervasive violence, helping to ensure that affected students are offered mental health services for trauma or anxiety; support conflict resolution programs; and implement other school–based violence prevention strategies in order to reduce the likelihood that these students will later commit violent acts.  

Focus of the Project Prevent Program

Funded local educational agencies offer students: 

  1. access to school-based counseling services, or referrals to community-based counseling services, for assistance in coping with trauma or anxiety;
  2. school-based social and emotional supports to help address the effects of violence;
  3. conflict resolution and other school-based strategies to prevent future violence; and
  4.  a safer and improved school environment via activities to address the school's most significant issues (e.g., harassment, bullying, violence, gang involvement, substance use).

Project Prevent (Cohort 2) Grantees

Below is a list of the 15 Project Prevent (Cohort 2) grantees, by State. More information on the Project Prevent grantees can be found on NCSSLE's State pages. Read more information about the Project Prevent grants here, or access a particular State page below to learn more.

  • Pasadena Unified School District
  • South Bend Community Schools
  • Green River Regional Educational Cooperative
  • Erlanger-Elsmere Board of Education
North Carolina
  • Iredell-Statesville Schools
New Jersey
  • Newark Public Schools
  • Stringtown Public Schools
New Hampshire
  • Laconia School District
  • Capital Region Education Council
  • Northwest Kansas Educational Service Center
  • Muskegon Area Intermediate School District
  • Lincoln Public Schools
  • Educational Service Center of Northeast Ohio
  • School District of Philadelphia
South Carolina
  • Charleston County School District