Project Prevent Grants (Cohort 1)

project prevent cohort 1

In 2014, the U.S. Department of Education awarded $14.2 million in Project Prevent grants to 22 local educational agencies (LEAs) to increase their capacity both to identify, assess, and serve students exposed to pervasive violence, helping to ensure that affected students are offered mental health services for trauma or anxiety; support conflict resolution programs; and implement other school–based violence prevention strategies in order to reduce the likelihood that these students will later commit violent acts.  

Focus of the Project Prevent Program

Funded local educational agencies offered students: 

  1. access to school-based counseling services, or referrals to community-based counseling services, for assistance in coping with trauma or anxiety;
  2. school-based social and emotional supports for students to help address the effects of violence;
  3. conflict resolution and other school-based strategies to prevent future violence; and
  4. a safer and improved school environment via activities to address the school's most significant issues (e.g., harassment, bullying, violence, gang involvement, substance use).

Project Prevent (Cohort 1) Grantees

Below is a list of the 22 Project Prevent (Cohort 1) grantees, by State. More information on the Project Prevent grantees can be found on NCSSLE's State pages. Read more information about the Project Prevent grants here, or access a particular State page below to learn more.

  • The Pima Prevention Partnership
  • El Rancho Unified School District
  • Oakland Unified School District
  • San Bernardino City Unified School District
  • San Francisco Unified School District
  • Stockton Unified School District 
  • New London Public Schools
  • Hillsborough County Public Schools 
  • The School Board of Miami-Dade 
  • The School Board of Sarasota County 
  • Metropolitan School District of Pike Township
  • Kentucky Valley Educational Cooperative
  • Lansing School District
  • Independent School District #625 – St. Paul Public Schools
  • Washoe County School District
  • Archway Charter School of Chester
South Carolina
  • Lancaster County School District
  • Cheatham County School District
  • Metropolitan Nashville Public Schools
  • Shelby County Board of Education
  • Milwaukee Public Schools
  • NorthEast Washington Educational Service District 101


American Institutes for Research

U.S. Department of Education

The contents of the National Center on Safe Supportive Learning Environments Web site were assembled under contracts from the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Safe and Supportive Schools to the American Institutes for Research (AIR), Contract Number  91990021A0020.

This Web site is operated and maintained by AIR. The contents of this Web site do not necessarily represent the policy or views of the U.S. Department of Education nor do they imply endorsement by the U.S. Department of Education.

©2024 American Institutes for Research — Disclaimer   |   Privacy Policy   |   Accessibility Statement