Participant List

A total of 22 state/local teams participated in the 2014 National Leadership Summit on School Discipline and Climate

  • Click on a state or locality below to see a team list.
  • Click here to download a complete participant list (PDF).

 

Baltimore, Maryland

Akil Hamm
Deputy Chief
Baltimore City Public Schools Police Force
ahamm@bcps.k12.md.us

Robert B. Kershaw
Associate Judge
Circuit Court for Baltimore City
robert.kershaw@mdcourts.gov

Gregory Thornton
Chief Executive Officer
Baltimore City Public Schools
bltilghman@bcps.k12.md.us

Brandon Tilghman
Executive Assistant, Student Support & Safety
Baltimore City Public Schools
bltilghman@bcps.k12.md.us

Karen Webber-Ndour
Executive Director, Student Support & Safety
Baltimore City Public Schools
kndour@bcps.k12.md.us

John Zesiger
Coordinator, Student Support Teams and 504 Plans
Baltimore City Public Schools
JKZesiger@bcps.k12.md.us

California

Ramona Bishop
Superintendent
Vallejo City Unified School District
rbishop@vallejo.k12.ca.us

Stacy Boulware Eurie
Presiding Juvenile Judge
Sacramento County Superior Court
boulwas@saccourt.ca.gov

Erika Brooks
Education Manager
Dolores Huerta Foundation
ebrooks@doloreshuerta.org

Jacquelyn Byers
Director
Black Organizing Project
jackie@blackorganizingproject.org

Maisie Chin
Director
CADRE Los Angeles
maisie@cadre-la.org

Christine Cleary
Attorney
Judicial Council of California
christine.cleary@jud.ca.gov

Laura Faer
Education Rights Director
Public Counsel Law Center
lfaer@publiccounsel.org

Juan Gomez
Program Manager
Motivating Individual Leadership for Public Advancement (MILPA)
juanmilpa@actioncouncil.org

Vanessa Hernandez
Policy Coordinator
California Youth Connection
vanessa@calyouthconn.org

Gordon Jackson
Assistant Superintendent
California Department of Education
GJackson@cde.ca.gov

Tracy Kenny
Attorney
Judicial Council of CA
tracy.kenny@jud.ca.gov

Claudette White
Chief Judge
Quechan Tribal Court
c.white@quechantribe.com

Colorado

Bill DeLisio
Family Law Program Manager
Court Administrator's Office
bill.delisio@judicial.state.co.us

Daniel Kim
Director of Youth Organizing
Padres & Jovenes Unidos
daniel@padresunidos.org

Janelle Krueger
Program Manager
Colorado Department of Education
krueger_j@cde.state.co.us

Luis E. Leal Munoz
Padres Y Jovenes Unidos
Youth member
LLeal@stu.striveprep.org

Judith Martinez
Director of Dropout Prevention and Student Engagement
Colorado Department of Education
martinez_j@cde.state.co.us

Ricardo Martinez
Co-Executive Director
Padres &Jovenes Unidos
ricardo@padresunidos.org

Jeff McDonald
Executive Director
Jeffco Juvenile Assessment Center
Jeffmcd@jeffcojac.org

 

Connecticut

Bernadette Conway
Chief Administrative Judge--Juvenile Matters
Connecticut Judicial Branch
bernadette.conway@jud.ct.gov

John Frassinelli
Bureau Chief
Connecticut State Department of Education
John.Frassinelli@ct.gov

Catherine Foley-Geib
Manager
Clinical and Educational Services
Connecticut Judicial Branch
CatherineFoley.Geib@jud.ct.gov

Charlene Russell-Tucker
Chief Operating Officer
Connecticut State Department of Education
charlene.russell-tucker@ct.gov

Martha Stone
Executive Director
The Center for Children’s Advocacy, Inc.
mstone@kidscounsel.org

Toni Walker
State Representative
Connecticut Legislature
toni.walker@cga.ct.gov

Delaware

Patricia Dailey Lewis
Deputy Attorney General
Delaware Department of Justice
Patricia.Dailey-Lewis@state.de.us

Aisha Davis
Law Clerk
Family Court, State of Delaware
Aisha.Davis@state.de.us

Jim Freeman
Executive Director
Grassroots Action Support Team
jfreeman@grassrootssupport.org

Frederika Jenner
President
Delaware State Education Association
frederika.jenner@dsea.org

Chandlee Kuhn
Chief Judge
Family Court, State of Delaware
CJ.Kuhn@state.de.us

John Sadowski
Education Associate
School Climate and Discipline
Delaware Department of Education john.sadowski@doe.k12.de.us

District of Columbia

Carol Dalton
Deputy Presiding Judge of the Family Court
Superior Court of the District of Columbia
Carol.Dalton@dcsc.gov

Daniel Hickson
Commander
District of Columbia Metropolitan Police Department
daniel.hickson@dc.gov

 

Terri Odom
Director
Family Court Social Services Division (Juvenile Probation)
Superior Court of the District of Columbia
Terri.Odom@dcsc.gov

Mary Grace Rook
Magistrate Judge
Superior Court of the District of Columbia
marygrace.rook@dcsc.gov

Florida

Julie Collins
Program Specialist
Office of Safe Schools
Florida Department of Education
julie.collins@fldoe.org

Katherine Essrig
Circuit Judge
13th Judicial Circuit
essrigkg@fljud13.org

Susan Horan
School Liaison
13th Judicial Circuit
horansm@fljud13.org

Rose Patterson
Chief of Court Improvement
Florida Supreme Court
pattersr@flcourts.org

Lee Haworth
Circuit Judge
12th Judicial Circuit
lhaworth@jud12.flcourts.org

Julie Orange
Director
Educational Development
Florida Department of Juvenile Justice
julie.orange@djj.state.fl.us

Georgia

Michelle Barclay
Assistant Director
Children, Families and the Courts Section
Georgia Admin Office of the Courts
michelle.barclay@gaaoc.us

Brad Bryant
Executive Director
Georgia REACH (Realizing Educational Achievement Can Happen)
bradb@gsfc.org

Araceli Jacobs
Legal Policy Analyst
Office of Children, Family and the Courts
Supreme Court of Georgia
araceli.jacobs@gaaoc.us

Garry McGiboney
Associate State Superintendent
Georgia Department of Education
gmcgiboney@doe.k12.ga.us

Lamar Smith
Director
Community Programs
Georgia Division  of Family and Children Services (DFCS)
lwsmith@dhr.state.ga.us

Patricia Stone
Juvenile Court Judge
Chatham County Juvenile Court
pstone@chathamcounty.org

Marlyn Tillman
Co-founder and Co-chair
Gwinnett Parent Coalition to Dismantle the School to Prison Pipeline (Gwinnett SToPP)
tmarlyn@yahoo.com

Hawaii

Leila Hayashida
Assistant Superintendent
Office of Curriculum, Instruction, and Student   Support
Hawaii Department of Education
Leila_Hayashida@notes.k12.hi.us

Carol Matsuoka
Coordinator
Juvenile Detention Alternatives Initiative
carol.t.matsuoka@courts.state.hi.us

Paul Murakami
Judge
First Circuit Family Court, Hawaii Paul.T.Murakami@courts.hawaii.gov

Jean Nakasato
Educational Specialist
Hawaii Department of Education
jean_nakasato@notes.k12.hi.us

Illinois

Jenny Arwade
Executive Director
Albany Park Neighborhood Council
Voices of Youth in Chicago Education (VOYCE)
jenny@apncorganizing.org

Jennifer Bauknecht
Circuit Judge
Eleventh Judicial Circuit
jbauknecht@livingstoncountyil.gov

Elizabeth Hanselman
Assistant Superintendent
Specialized Instruction, Nutrition and Wellness
Illinois State Board of Education
ehanselm@isbe.net

Mark Hassakis
Attorney
Hassakis & Hassakis, P.C.
mhass@hassakislaw.com

Todd Schroeder
Assistant Director, Court Services Division
Administartive Office of Illinois Courts
tschroeder@illinoiscourts.gov

Rick Velasquez
Executive Director
Youth Outreach Services
rickv@yos.org

Louisiana

Lynette Adams
Judicial Program Manager
Families in Need of Services (FINS) Assistance Program
Louisiana Supreme Court
ladams@lasc.org

Wesley Bishop
State Representative
Louisiana House of Representatives
contact@wesleybishop.org

Terri Byrd
Education Program Consultant
Louisiana Department of Education
Terri.byrd@la.gov

Kristina Kent
Staff Attorney
General Counsel’s Office
Louisiana Supreme Court
kkent@lasc.org

Josh Perry
Executive Director
Louisiana Center for Children's Rights
jperry@laccr.org

Roxson Welch
Executive Director
Baton Rouge Family & Youth Service Center
roxson@fysc-ebr.org

Massachusetts

Jessica Berry
Supervising Attorney
Children's Law Center of Massachusetts
J.Berry@clcm.org

Dianne Curran
Deputy General Counsel
Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary
Education
dianne.curran@state.ma.us

Anne L. Gilligan
Safe and Healthy Schools Coordinator
Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
agilligan@doe.mass.edu

Amy Nechtem
Chief Justice
Massachusetts Juvenile Court
amy.nechtem@jud.state.ma.us

Andre Ravenelle
Superintendent
Fitchburg Public Schools
ravenellea@fitchburg.k12.ma.us

Jenny Sazama
Director and Co-Founder
Youth on Board
jenny@youthonboard.org

Jacqueline Schelfhaudt
Assistant Deputy Court Administrator
Massachusetts Juvenile Court
jacqueline.schelfhaudt@jud.state.ma.us

Michigan

Judge Dorene Allen
Probate and Family Court Judge
County of Midland
doreneallen@co.midland.mi.us

Angela Cole
Director
Michigan School–Justice Partnership
angela@school2prison.com

Richard Dolinski
Founder and President Emeritus
The Legacy Center for Community Success
rdolinski@tlc4cs.org

Michelle Fecteau
Member and NASBE Delegate
Michigan State Board of Education
m.fecteau06075@gmail.com 

Kyle Guerrant
Deputy Superintendent Administration & School Support Services
Michigan Department of Education
guerrantk@michigan.gov

Jean Ingersoll
Assistant Administrator to the Chief Deputy and Pathways to Potential Operations Manager
Michigan Department of Human Services
IngersollJ@michigan.gov

Jodi Latuszek
Management Analyst
Trial Court Services
Michigan State Court Administrative Office          
latuszekj@courts.mi.gov

Paul Liabenow
Executive Director
Michigan Elementary and Middle School Principals Association
paul@memspa.org

Kayla Mason
Director, YOUTH VOICE
Harriet Tubman Center
kaylacm@umich.edu

Herman McCall
Acting Director, Juvenile Justice Programs
Michigan Department of Human Services
Mccallh@michigan.gov

Rodd Monts
Field Director
American Civil Liberties Union of Michigan
rmonts@aclumich.org

Edna Reaves
Executive Vice President
Detroit Federation of Teachers
EReaves@dft231.com

Nevada

Brigid Duffy
Chief Deputy District Attorney
Clark County District Attorney's Office–Juvenile Division
Brigid.Duffy@ClarkCountyNV.gov

Elizabeth B. Florez
Division Director
Washoe County Juvenile Services
eflorez@washoecounty.us

Stephanie Heying
Court Services Analyst
Nevada Supreme Court
sheying@nvcourts.nv.gov

Tammy Malich
Assistant Superintendent
Clark County School District
tamalich@interact.ccsd.net

New Jersey

Kelly Allen
Project Specialist
New Jersey Department of Education
Kelly.Allen@doe.state.nj.us

Mark Biedron
President
New Jersey State Board of Education
mwbiedron@gmail.com

Nancy Curry                                           
Manager
Office of Student Support Services
New Jersey Department of Education
nancy.curry@doe.state.nj.us

Lorelei Drew-Nevola
Consultant
Learning Resource Center
New Jersey Department of Education
lorelei.drew-nevola@doe.state.nj.us

Adam Grossman
Unit Head
School and Traffic Safety Unit
New Jersey State Police
LPP6033@gw.njsp.org

Tremaine Harrison
Director of Education
Juvenile Justice Commissioner
tremaine.harrison@jjc.nj.gov

New Mexico

Tonna Burgos
Executive Director of Student Services
Rio Rancho Public Schools
tburgos@rrps.net

Danielle Johnston
Education  Superintendent
New Mexico Children, Youth & Families Department
danielle.johnston2@state.nm.us

Petra Jimenez Maes
Senior Justice
New Mexico Supreme Court
suppjm@nmcourts.gov

Louis McDonald
District Court Judge
13th Judicial District Court
berdlpm@nmcourts.gov

Angela Peinado
Statewide Program Manager
Admininstrative Office of the Courts
aocaxp@nmcourts.gov

Gloria Rendon
Executive Director
New Mexico Schools Superintendent's Association
gloria@nmcel.org

New York

Mary Adams
School Board Commissioner
Rochester City School District
maryb_adams@urmc.rochester.edu

Nora Cronin
New York State Governor's Office of Public Safety
nora.cronin@dcjs.ny.gov

Kathleen DeCataldo
Executive Director
New York State Permanent Judicial Commission on Justice for Children
kdecatal@nycourts.gov

Lois Herrera
Senior Executive Director
Office of Guidance and School Counseling
New York City Department of Education
LHerrer@schools.nyc.gov

Will Keresztes
Associate Superintendent for Educational Services
Buffalo Public Schools
wkeresztes@buffaloschools.org

Judge Howard Levine
Former New York Court of Appeals Judge
hlevine@woh.com

Terry McSweeney
Assistant in Research and Educational Services
New York State United Teachers
tmcsween@nysutmail.org

Tom O'Brien
Superintendent
Roxbury Central School District
tobrien@roxburycs.org

Renee Rider
Assistant Commissioner
New York State Education Department
rrider@mailnysed.gov

Angelica Rivera
Education Chair
Citizen Action
amrivera217@gmail.com

Nicolas Storelli-Castro
Director
Governmental Relations and Special Projects
New York State Education Department
nstorell@mail.nysed.gov

Marsha Weissman
Executive Director
Center for Community Alternatives
mweissman@communityalternatives.org

North Carolina

Lisa Barnes
Executive Director
Student Discipline and Behavior Support
Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools
Lisa.Barnes@cms.k12.nc.us

Julius Corpening
Chief District Court Judge
North Carolina Administrative Office of the Courts
Julius.h.corpening@nccourts.org

Sanyu Gichie
Program Associate
Youth Organizing Institute
sanyugichie@gmail.com

Rick Holiday
Deputy Superintendent
New Hanover County Schools
Rick.holliday@nhcs.net

Judy Stubblefield
Positive Behavior Intervention and Supports (PBIS) and Bullying
Prevention Coordinator
New Hanover County Schools
Judy.stubblefield@nhcs.net

James McAdams
Principal
New Hanover County Schools
James.mcadams@nhcs.net

Elizabeth Trosch
District Court Judge
North Carolina Administrative Office of the Courts
Elizabeth.T.Trosch@nccourts.org

McKinley Wooten
Deputy Director
North Carolina Administrative Office of the Courts
McKinley.Wooten@nccourts.org

Jason Langberg
Supervising Attorney
Legal Aid of North Carolina
JasonL@LegalAidNC.org

Pennsylvania

Kimberly Berkeley Clark
Administrative Judge
Allegheny County Family Court
Kim.Clark@alleghenycourts.us

George Mosee
Deputy District Attorney
Philadelphia County Juvenile Division
George.Mosee@phila.gov

Keith B. Snyder
Executive Director
Juvenile Court Judges’ Commission
ksnyder@pa.gov

David W. Volkman
Deputy Secretary
Pennsylvania Department of Education
dvolkman@pa.gov

David R. Workman
Common Pleas Judge
Lancaster County Court of Common Pleas
workmand@co.lancaster.pa.us

Texas

Joy Baskin
Director of Legal Services
Texas Association of School Boards
joy.baskin@tasb.org

Priscilla Flores
Senior Advisor, Educator Initiatives
Texas Education Agency
priscilla.flores@tea.state.tx.us

Deborah Fowler
Deputy Director
Texas Appleseed
dfowler@texasappleseed.net

David Slayton
Administrative Director of the Courts
Texas Office of Court Administration
David.Slayton@txcourts.gov

Candace Stoltz
Senior Advisor to the Commissioner School Safety, Discipline, Emergency Management
Texas Education Agency
candace.stoltz@tea.state.tx.us

Terra Tucker
Policy Analyst
Office of Senator John Whitmire
terra.tucker_SC@senate.state.tx.us

Virginia

Jo Ann Burkholder
Student Assistance Systems Coordinator
Virginia Department of Education
Joann.Burkholder@doe.virginia.gov

Cynthia Cave
Director
Student Services
Virginia Department of Education
cynthia.cave@doe.virginia.gov

Darla Edwards
Board Member
Virginia Board of Education
dedwards3013@gmail.com

Lelia Baum Hopper
Court Improvement Program
Office of the Executive Secretary
Supreme Court of Virginia
lhopper@courts.state.va.us

Tracey Jenkins
State Juvenile Justice Specialist
Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services
Tracey.Jenkins@dcjs.virginia.gov

Jeree Thomas
Attorney
JustChildren Program
jeree@justice4all.org

Wisconsin

Brenda Jennings
Education Consultant
Student Services/Prevention and Wellness Team
Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
brenda.jennings@dpi.wi.gov

Ron Rogers
Director
Kenosha County Division of Children and Family Services
Ron.Rogers@kenoshacounty.org

Susan Valeri
Director of Special Education and Student Support
Kenosha County Unified School District
svaleri@kusd.edu

Mary Wagner
Judge
Kenosha County Circuit Court
Mary.Wagner@wicourts.gov